First Job > Long Term Preparation

There is no turning back in becoming an Actuary, you are either an FSA or you are not. Therefore, from the moment you decide to pursue this career, it might take 5 to 10 years to the point you finish all the requirements. All the education and examinations provide you with a strong and solid technical background on actuarial. But it is the working experience that makes you an Actuary! Therefore, landing on an actuarial job becomes the key in this journey. I have seen students who give up mid-way simply because they could not get into an actuarial firm regardless how good he or she is in school and exams. That is why I place such a great importance on this section-how to get a job. Prepare a good resume, good cover letter and get ready to smoke the interview!   

In order to stand out from the crowd during the interview, you need to be all-rounded:

  1. Academic – Study the right courses and acquire the correct skill set
  2. Internship Experience – Try to work in actuarial related job during summer holiday or co-op term to get some first-hand experience
  3. Extra-curriculum – Expose yourself to activities outside of class and work on improving your communication skills, leadership skills, time management skills, and stress management skills.

And all these should start on the first day you decided to become an Actuary!

Academic
  1. Take the core subjects as suggested by the faculty advisor. For example, calculus, statistics, life contingencies, actuarial modeling, lost model, and all other actuarial exam related courses. Getting on the Dean’s List and scholarship will be a plus!
  2.  If possible, take some business courses such as accounting, management theory, organizational behaviour, marketing, operation management, business law, and so on. I was a graduate from Business School majored in Actuarial Mathematics and I found that my foundation in business studies from school was very helpful in my daily work. The reason is simple, actuary serves the financial world! We need business background to translate the actuarial findings into business implications.
  3. Finally, if you have some spare credit to spend, try other subjects that interest you the most so that your university study will not be too boring.
  4. Of course, write SOA exams! And of course, pass them!
Internship Experience
  1. Try to work in actuarial related role during summer or co-op term to get some real life working experience. Try to learn the work ethics which is very different that from your school life.
  2. Besides, while working and obtaining experience, you also get the opportunity to know the Actuaries working in the company. This will not only expand your network in the field but also provide a great chance for you to learn and obtain mentorship, which is invaluable in your career development. I have to admit without all the mentors I have had throughout my actuarial studies and career, I wouldn’t have gone this far. And I know that there is still a long way ahead of me!
  3. Try to explore to as many actuarial fields as possible before you nail down where you want to go after graduation. For example, try to work in life insurance company, reinsurance company, pension consulting firm, p&c insurance company, life consulting firm and so on. If you somehow like or stuck in the same company for two or three terms, try to work in different areas such as valuation, pricing, risk management, asset liability management and so on. You will get a better picture at what the real world is like.
Extra-curriculum Activities
  1. Having good grades and rich experience will make you a good candidate. But what makes you an excellent candidate is the quality of leadership skills, creativity, innovative, time management skills, project organization skills, stress management skills. These qualities can be cultivated through extra-curriculum activities. 
  2. One good example is to get involved in the actuarial student club in your university.  But hey, here is a catch! Do not just become a member of the club but be actively involved in organizing activities to build up your leadership and organization skills.
  3. Maintain your hobbies and interests as they will prove as an invaluable asset for you in the future.
  4. Try to get involved in some volunteer job as this can also train your organization skills.
  5. Sports are very important too. It shows your teamwork! Try to get involved in some sport because I don’t think a weak body can support the highly demanding exam process!
  6. One last suggestion I have is a brave one. Start up your own part time business while you are at school! This will really give you the greatest challenge and exposure before you graduate and definitely shape your professionalism and business savvy. What you will learn is not limited from the textbook, you learn about marketing, organization, business law, pricing, client relationship, communication, strategic planning, and so on! I have to attribute this last bullet to one of my best friend (an Actuary of course). He managed to start up a part time business while he was at school; juggling with study, SOA exams, and part time business at the same time and ace them all. And now I can see that he has done very well in his actuarial career and I have no doubt of a bright future for him!

But if you ask me the priority of these three,

  1. Academic (35% weight)
  2. Working experience (35% weight)
  3. Extra-Curriculum (30% weight)

 

 
Next : Write Resume

第一份工作 > 长期准备

读到这里你可能已经意识到成为精算师是一条不归路。从决定开始到真正成为精算师少说也要五至十年的时间。最常规的道路是从读大学的精算专业开始,同时考精算的资格考试。这些教育背景会给你提供比较坚实的理论基础。但是,如果没有实践这些也只能是纸上谈兵。只有通过实际的工作经验才能积累成为精算师所需的经验和技能。因此,找到一份精算工作是非常必要的。我曾遇到许多同学中途放弃精算就是因为没能进到精算公司工作,无论他们的学习成绩怎样。这就是为什么此章节的笔墨最重。

想要从面试中脱颖而出你必须是个全面的人才:

  1. 学业—修合适的课程并培养相应的技能
  2. 实习经验—在暑假或者实习学期中努力找精算相关的工作,获得实际工作经验
  3. 课外—多参加科外活动,提高沟通能力、领导能力、时间管理能力以及调节压力的能力

所有的这些都应该从你决定读精算那天就开始准备

学业
  1. 修读专业要求的核心课程,如:微积分、统计、寿险精算、精算模型、损失模型及其他与精算考试相关的课程。努力学习并争取拿到奖学金。
  2. 如果可能的话,选修一些商业课程如会计、管理理论、组织行为学、市场营销学、运营管理学、商业法等。我毕业的学校的精算学是属于商学院的,因此课程设计中包含很多商科的课程,我工作以后发现这些商业课程的学习对我的日常工作非常有帮助。原因很简单,精算师是为商业服务的。我们需要商业背景把精算的计算结果翻译成商业决策。
  3. 最后,如有还有剩余的学分可以用来选修一些自己感兴趣的课程,别让大学学习太枯燥。
  4. 当然还要考SOA的考试,争取通过!
实习经验
  1. 利用暑假和实习学期在精算领域工作获得实际工作经验。学习工作的职业准则和道德规范,这是你在学校无法学到的。
  2. 除此之外,在公司工作你还可以有机会认识到许多公司里面的精算师。这不仅可以帮助你扩大关系网络而且更重要的是从前辈身上可以学习到很多经验,这对你的职业发展是非常有帮助的。在我学习和工作到成为精算师的这些年中,如果没有那些前辈的指引我是不会走到今天的,我也知道未来还有更长的路需要走。
  3. 尽可能多的探索不同的精算领域,之后再决定你毕业后想去的领域。争取在不同的保险公司工作,如人寿保险、再保险、养老金咨询、财产和意外保险、人寿咨询公司等。如果你两到三个学期都在同一家公司里工作,争取到不同部门工作,如储备金评估、定价、风险管理、资产负债管理等。这样你可以更清楚整个系统的运作情况。
课外活动
  1. 优秀的成绩和丰富的经验可以使你成为一个不错的候选人。但是怎样能成为卓越的候选人呢,你需要领导能力、创新能力、时间管理能力、项目组织能力、压力调节能力。这些能力和素质可以从课外活动中培养。
  2. 一个很好的例子是你可以参加你们大学的精算学生会。不仅参与还要帮助组织活动争取成为领导者,这样才能锻炼你的领导能力和组织能力。
  3. 坚持你的兴趣爱好,这些都将是你未来的人生中非常宝贵的东西。
  4. 可以参加志愿者活动,提高你的组织能力
  5. 体育活动也是非常重要的。它可以表现你的协作能力。另外瘦弱的身体也无法承受高强度的精算考试。
  6. 最后提一个比较大胆的建议,上学期间创立你的兼职生意。这是对自己的一个巨大挑战同时一定能帮助你变得更加具有职业意识和商业触觉。你所学到的将是书本上所学不到的,如市场营销、组织、商业法、定价、客户关系、沟通、策略规划等。 这个大胆的建议要归功于我的一个最好的朋友(当然他也是精算师)。他在上大学期间就开创了一个小生意,管理生意的同时他还兼顾自己的学业、精算资格考试,他把这几项工作安排得井井有条而且成绩非常优秀。现在他在精算职业中也表现出非凡的能力,我对他的未来充满期待。

如果要我给以下三点排序,那么我的顺序是这样的

  1. 学习
  2. 工作经验
  3. 课外活动
下一篇 :校园招聘